When we kiss


When we kiss

My heart threatens to abandon my chest

Choking

Tightening

Stifling pain

Sears through me

My eyes fill

Tears threatening

Betraying

What I work so hard to hide

 

Eyes shut tight

Willing the tears back in

Sucking up the pain

Easing back

The words

Eager to escape my lips

 

I hope

That you don’t know

Would you think me weak?

It is enough

That I tremble at your touch

You need no more ammunition

 

I don’t fantasize about you

I never make it that far

The very thought of you

Shreds my sanity

Depletes the core of me

Stunned

I simply ride it out

 

Curled up in a ball

I squeeze it back in

Tighter

Tighter

Forcing it away

The tears

The pain

The words

 

I love you

I love you so much it hurts

 

One thought on “When we kiss

Leave a Reply

